National kayak team members show up in force, dominate FIBArk podium

A star-studded cast of national team members from the US and Canada competed and dominated the podium in the 61st Annual New Belgium FIBArk Whitewater Festival this weekend.

Junior men. In first, second and third respectively, the entire contingent of  US National Freestyle Kayak Team members Dane Jackson, Jason Craig and Michael Palmer.

Apologies to the really fine competitors in junior women for missing results.

Senior women. Reigning Women’s World Freestyle Champ and Canadian National Champ Ruth Gordon, US National Freestyle Kayak Team member and reigning US National Champ, Emily Jackson, rising star, Kat Levitt.

Senior men (all in the Jackson Kayak All-Star 2010). Reigning US National Champ and national team member Stephen Wright, reigning Canadian National Champion and bronze finalist World Champion Nick Troutman and Arkansas Valley homey and World Cup bronze finalist Dustin Urban of Buena Vista.

This year’s FIBArk also saw a record cadet class of 15 boys and girls under 14 competing, a few of whom were cub cadets, under 10.

In late August, the national teams from countries around the world will travel to Thun, Switzerland to compete in World Championships where some of the same boaters who participated in FIBArk will be vying for world titles. Other US team members who competed at FIBArk included Eric Jackson, Bryan Kirk, Jonny Meyers, Eileen Campbell, Adriene Levknecht, C1 Jordon Poffenberger, OC1 Jake Ament, and Jeremy Laucks representing the US in both C1 and OC1. US National team members who did not make it to FIBArk included Rush Sturges and Chris Stafford, senior men; Jessie Stone, senior women, and  junior women, Tracy D’Arbeloff and Emery Tillman.

The Citizen is happy to provide a forum for comments and discussion. Please be civil, truthful, and relevant. Please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. Real names are appreciated.