Commission gives preliminary approval to legislative districts

Wednesday, September 21 2011

DENVER— Monday, the Reapportionment Commission approved new Colorado House and Senate district maps. If the maps are approved by the Colorado Supreme Court, candidates will run for office in the new districts in the 2012 election. New map boundaries will be operative for the 2012 election cycle, but Coloradans will continue to be represented by their current legislator until the 2012 victors are sworn in January of 2013.

In the reapportionment map pending court approval, Senate District 5, currently held by Senator Gail Schwartz (D-Snowmass), will add Eagle and Lake counties and lose the six-counties of the San Luis Valley (Saguache, Mineral, Rio Grande, Alamosa, Conejos & Costilla).

Senator Schwartz offered the following comment on her new senate district, approved yesterday by the Commission:

“These changes to my district are bittersweet – I will truly miss representing the San Luis Valley given the relationships that have developed over the past six years, but I welcome the chance to represent Eagle and Lake counties and look forward to getting to know new constituents and their issues.”

To view the maps, please visit the Reapportionment Commission website:


The Citizen is happy to provide a forum for comments and discussion. Please be civil, truthful, and relevant. Please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. Real names are appreciated.